Posted by: careeradvisor | November 11, 2008

Frustration tolerance dropping!

By Career Advisor

Question: More than 10 years of experience in my field, not getting many interviews. Am I overqualified? frown I know I’m not under qualified, but sometimes it seems like I need to know everything about my field. Am I aiming at jobs that won’t suit me? This is so frustrating. I also wonder if I’m being rejected because of age (55). Feedback and some support, not sympathy, would be helpful.

Answer: You have my support. I don’t know if you are aiming at jobs that won’t suit you because you haven’t included enough information about your field, education, or experience.

One thing that I do know, is that job hunting is extremely frustrating. Lets face it, in this job market the odds are stacked against you. There were 2,269 Mass Layoffs in the month of September http://www.bls.gov/news.release/mmls.nr0.htm .

Fifty Five is not old. The Department of Labor actually reports that there has been an increase in employment of 55 and older workers in the last 3 months: http://www.bls.gov/news.release/empsit.t06.htm

Job hunting is a numbers game. The more positions that you apply to, the better your chances are. Keep motivated.


Leave a comment

Categories